For most drivers in California, their car is something they simply cannot live without.Whether its used to drive to work, school, or simply for entertainment, there is no denying that Californians love their cars.
However, driving a vehicle is the most dangerous activity most people engage in on a daily basis. According to recent National Highway Traffic Safety Administration research, see http://www.nhtsa.gov/., there were over 32,000 traffic fatalities (in auto accidents) in the United States in 2011, with an expected fatality increase of 5.3% for 2012. Millions are injured every year.
The good news is that most drivers are covered by auto insurance, which can compensate those injured for their losses in an auto accident. The bad news is that too many drivers are still either uninsured, or under-insured. This means that while they have purchased some insurance, their policy is insufficient to compensate those injured in an auto accident. California law requires all drivers to purchase liability insurance, but California’s minimum policy requirement is one of the lowest in the country. Minimum liability limits in California are currently set at $15,000/$30,000/$5,000, which means that a negligent driver is liable to accident victims in the amount of $15,000 for personal injury per person, $30,000 for injuries per accident, and $5,000 for all property damage arising out of the accident. Many drivers shop around for car insurance, ultimately settling on the cheapest policy possible. The problem with this approach is that in the event that driver is liable for a serious accident, the coverage they have purchased may be insufficient to cover the injuries they have caused to another. By attempting to save money by purchasing a minimum-limit policy, the responsible driver may have just put his or her personal assets at risk.
Despite laws mandating that every driver in California have at least the minimum liability limits detailed above, some sources estimate that nearly 1 in 4 California drivers carry no insurance coverage whatsoever. Worse yet, uninsured drivers are estimated to be involved in nearly half of all collisions in the state.
You are a safe and responsible driver because you always wear your seatbelt and have purchased liability coverage. But how do you protect yourself in the event that you are hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver? The answer is Uninsured Motorist or Underinsured Motorist coverage, frequently called “UM/UIM” coverage. By purchasing this optional coverage, prudent drivers protect themselves in the event that they are involved in a serious accident with an uninsured driver. In the event of such an accident, the prudent driver would simply file a claim with his or her own insurance company, up to the UM/UIM limits that they have purchased. While this coverage is optional in many states, the importance of purchasing a UM/UIM policy with decent limits cannot be understated, given the amount of uninsured drivers in California.
AT THE TARASENKO LAW FIRM, WE KNOW THE PAIN AND STRESS THAT A CAR ACCIDENT CAN CAUSE FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY. OUR ACCIDENT ATTORNEYS ARE PROFESSIONALS WHO WORK HARD FOR YOU SO YOU CAN FOCUS ON YOUR RECOVERY. CALL THE TARASENKO LAW FIRM AT (916) 542-0201 FOR A FREE CONSULTATION.